Furiously Happy is Exactly What I Want To Be

Jenny Lawson is my hero. In Furiously Happy she manages to make me forget every minute detail of my life that I have been stressing over lately and make me laugh hard, and laugh long. No one is perfect and Lawson is acutely aware of her own imperfections and spins them in a way that makes them relate-able  to every reader. Granted this book is for mature audiences only, but it’s a fabulous addition to my own personal library. My only regret is that I am reading her books out of order. Her first book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, is referenced several times and I only wish I had started with her first best-seller.

My first year as a college graduate has been far from easy, and I have a tendency to overthink things in a way that can get in the way of my enjoyment of life. Lawson has made my problems seem much smaller and has provided some much needed advice for the darkest of times that we all face. Lawson sates “I vowed to never take personal responsibility for other people’s spoons/attitudes/ stupidity, because frankly I have enough to worry about” (203). If you want an explanation for the spoon analogy you better go read the book because it’s PERFECT. We are each out own person, and its important to realize that we have our own lives and too much energy is wasted on taking things personally.

Lawson has taken her own darkness, her own mental illness and turned it into something beautiful. This book is one that I fully plan on reading again because Lawson is a wonderfully random person and I can only hope that I can meet her one day and tell her exactly how much her words (profanities and all) mean to me. Her stories have pulled me up from my own mistakes and has helped me move forward from things (big and small) that have held me back as a successful person. To quote Lawson’s father: “Don’t make the same mistakes that everyone else makes. Make wonderful mistakes. make the kind of mistakes that make people so shocked that they have no other choice but to be a little impressed” (249). I plan to shoot for the stars, and if I fall dreadfully short, I plan to try again and again until I have achieved the exact life that I want.

Thank you Jenny Lawson. I plan on living my life furiously happy, just like the raccoon on your book cover.

Lawson, Jenny. Furiously Happy: {a Funny Book about Horrible Things}. New York: Flatiron, 2015. Print.

Leave a Reply

