I Love Women in Comedy

I very much love to laugh. A friend once described my laughter as contagious. Most of the time what I’m laughing at isn’t all that funny to most people, but the sounds I make and the way I look make everyone in the room loose it because it is that ridiculous. Between Jenny Lawson and Mindy Kaling (who’s book, Is Everyone Hanging out without Me?, I finished last night) I have this new found adoration for female comedy writers. Which means that I have looked hella ridiculous these last few days.

I have always been a fiction kind of person. I never had much interest in reading nonfiction but I decided to take a chance by picking up Furiously Happy and Is Everyone Hanging out without Me?. I now relate to Mindy Kaling on a spiritual level. I laughed from start to finish at her wonderful stories. She is curvy and a little out there but so am I. I am beyond jealous of her gradual but fantastic rise to fame by simply pursuing exactly what she wants from life. She takes chances and stands up for herself, and often that doesn’t work out, but she shows that you just need to take the right chance and things can change drastically.

I loved every second of reading about how she turned a small two women show into an incredible career as a television writer. After reading the introduction to her book I immediately started watching The Mindy Project and I am in love! I idolize her and can only hope that I have as successful a life as her. Her quick wit is evident both in her book and on her TV show, but she also discusses some very real issues that women face. These include body image, and bullying. Her stories from her childhood are extremely relate-able  and hearing her humility as she discusses working with Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Kristen Wiig is very refreshing. She never sounds cocky or overly confident. She is honest and real in a way that makes me want to be her friend. I adore her and definitely plan on reading more books written by fabulous women in comedy.

Kaling, Mindy. Is Everyone Hanging out without Me? (and Other Concerns). New York: Crown Archetype, 2011. Print.

b2347ae6bd07cbf1e2da8701da4b53f2

Leave a Reply

