I Want to Visit The Night Circus!

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BADLY! I picked up a copy of Erin Morgenstern’s novel The Night Circus a few years ago because it was on sale and because the cover is pretty damn fabulous. I finally read it last week. When I first started reading I was confused as Morgenstern shifts between characters that appear to have nothing to do with each other. However, the more I read the more dedicated I became to the story.

The basic premise is that two magicians are doing battle within a fabulous circus that is only open at night. Believe me the rules of this battle are much more complicated than hurling spells at one another, and that is what makes the book so wonderful. In each chapter Morgenstern follows different character and expertly uses time jumps to keep the reader enticed. You truly don’t find out what pulls the chapters together until the very end and the ending is complete perfection. It’s like a puzzle for the reader as you try to figure out how all the pieces fit together and how the magicians battle is going to end.

This book is The Prestige meets Romeo and Juliet. I am a huge Shakespeare nerd finding small references to The Bard brought me particular amount of joy. Watching a love story blossom between the two competing magicians was entrancing. As they gradually figure out the rules to their challenge they start to create their own rules and fight the system that has pitted them against each other. The descriptions of the magical night circus are stunning and I want nothing more than to visit this place myself though I know that it will never exist. Please read this book!

815D5sneiNL._SL1500_

Morgenstern, Erin. The Night Circus: A Novel. New York: Doubleday, 2011. Print.

Leave a Reply

