Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

I’m just going to take a quick moment to repeat what I said in my first post: JENNY LAWSON IS MY HERO! Now that I have read her first book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir), I have a far deeper understanding of Lawson’s background and why she is the way she is. She had a rather unconventional upbringing that helped cement her as a wonderfully random force of nature in the blogging community.  Her book is full of stories that make you laugh make you cry and will probably offend more than one person.

I desperately wish that I had read this book before tackling Furiously Happy but no matter which order you read them in both are definitely worth it. The main difference between the two books is that Let’s Pretend… does not revolve around mental illness nearly as much as Furiously Happy. in her first book she mostly focuses on her struggle with anxiety while in her second book she focuses on the long list of other illness’s she also battles.  You get a much more complete picture of Lawson’s childhood, which is why I recommend reading Let’s Pretend… first. Believe me when I say that her second book makes a lot more sense now that I’ve read the prequel.

Lawson’s constant, unapologetic enthusiasm for life is inspiring, and hilarious. I can honestly say that I have never laughed at a book this hard. Even during her saddest stories, like when she discusses her struggle to get pregnant, she displays an optimism that really puts things in perspective. She also has a weird thing for taxidermy that she probably inherited from her father (a professional taxidermist). I personally find taxidermy creepy but after hearing her describe her rather eclectic collection of animals I find myself desperately wanting a Mouse dressed as Hamlet.  Those of you that have witnessed my irrational obsession with The Bard will understand (though I would probably be happier with a stuffed animal than with a taxidermy one).

Lawson has once again inspired me and I know she will continue to do so. Since beginning this blog I have become a devoted reader of The Bloggess and I know that if I ever hear about a book signing I will probably camp out in order to get a signature. Like I said in my first post I want to be her best friend and I can only hope that she will read this and see how much she has inspired me.

if-you-could-hear-the-insane-stuff-going-on-in-my-head-it-would-scare-the-hell-out-of-you-probably-quote-1

06TTCulture-superJumbo

Lawson, Jenny. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (a Mostly True Memoir). New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2012. Print.

bloggess

 

Leave a Reply

