Outlander- Diana Gabaldon

I cannot believe I haven’t read this sooner. I’m hopelessly addicted, and cannot wait to watch the show and read the rest of the series. Diana Gabaldon (shout out to my fellow NAU alum) is a genius. The plot of Outlander is richly layered and marvelously entertaining. I started this book as an audio book for my road trip home from Washington. The narrator, Davina Porter, is wonderful and perfectly captures all the accents and the characters. I started it during my drive from San Francisco to Phoenix. This trip got me a good chunk of the way through but I still had a long way to go, so I continued listening as I unpacked and set up my new apartment. After a surprisingly short amount of time (I have A LOT of stuff) this task was complete so I hunkered down with a hard copy of the book. Once I was able to read at my own pace I plowed through the final chunk.

The book follows Clair Randall, as she is transported back in time from 1945 to 18th century Scotland. Needless to say that this transition comes as a bit of a shock, but Clair quickly recovers and sets her sights on returning home. Unfortunately she is dragged far away from the Sanding Stones that transported her and she ends up working as a physician for a young laird in Scotland. As outlandish (pun totally intended) as this seemed to me at the beginning I very quickly found myself engrossed in Clair’s journey through the highland with young Jaime Frasier and the Mackenzie clan.

All the characters are extremely complex and  they each present certain amount of mystery that Clair struggles to piece together. Some of the most likable character like Jaime can be seen as barbaric, while the most detestable, like Captain Randall, present a sympathetic side (not that Randall’s actions could ever be forgiven). The amount of research that went into the story is evident in the accuracy with which Gabaldon describes 18th century Scotland. There are moments of serenity that provide a close look at the daily life in the Scottish Highlands, and there are also moments extreme excitement that offer a look into the barbarity of the time. There are even steamy scenes that would make most people run for a cold shower cold shower. It is fascinating to watch Clair adapt to her surrounding as her decision to return to 1945 becomes more complicated than she had originally intended.

By then end of the book I found myself longing to return to Scotland as I reminisced about my first visit. And I can already tell that the show is going to be excellent. The casting alone indicated perfection. I was planning on taking a break and reading something else but I don’t think that I can. (sorry Sarah but the moment I finish watching season 1 I will start reading Dragonfly in Amber. You had better get reading if you want to catch up). So you should probably cunt on my next few posts being strictly Outlander related.

PERFECT CASTING FOR CLAIR AND JAMIE!!!!!!!!!!!

Gabaldon, Diana. Outlander. New York, NY: Delacorte, 1991. Print.

Side note: I have been trying to post every time I finish a book but I think that my posts have too few and far between. Once the new school year starts I’ll have even less time to read so I am going to try to post twice a week whether I’m done with a book or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

