Guys, I May Be Going A Bit Overboard…

As a fun activity for a half day at school, I’m teaching my honors class the Dwarvish Rune Alphabet used by Tolkien on Thorin’s map in The Hobbit. I always like to do this because it gets the kids immersed in the text by decoding language and phonetically examining English. So I did what I normally do: make copies and write the bell work prompt on the board. I kind of ended up writing both the journal prompt and the date in dwarvish. I also included the hobbit work for November and the elvish translation. I need to learn to calm down. Please don’t judge my dwarvish spelling… I’m no linguist.

fullsizerender747

One thought on “Guys, I May Be Going A Bit Overboard…

Leave a Reply

