Why I Need Feminism

I love dresses. I also love jeans, and sweatpants, and leggings, and shorts, and just lying around in my underwear. I’m not saying that I have a desire to run errands in my underwear (my self-esteem is WAY too low to pull that off, also it just seems unhygienic), but feminism means that I can choose to wear whatever I want without judgement. Feminism also means that men can wear whatever they want without judgement. If one of my male students decides to wear a dress to school I’m gonna greet him with an excessively enthusiastic “YOU LOOK AMAZING!”. He will definitely be more concerned with the fact that I am embarrassing myself more than he cares about what other students think.

I need feminism because there are days when I want to wear frilly dresses and high heels, but there are also days when I want to wear bow ties and combat boots. I need Feminism because a woman should be able to have short hair without people judging her and saying that feminine women should have long hair. I need feminism because my leg hair should be just as acceptable as a mans beard. If men are allowed to go weeks without shaving their faces, then I should be allowed to go weeks without shaving my legs, and I should not be confined to pants during that time, BECAUSE THAT’S WHAT EQUALITY IS! I personally will not wear a dress without shaving my legs simply because I am more comfortable that way. I do not enjoy the sensation of my leg hairs rubbing against my skin, its prickly and terrible.

I need feminism because women should not be ashamed or embarrassed of their periods. Women are strong and powerful and we spend one week of every month bleeding. Period cramps are caused when a woman’s uterus contracts so intensely that blood flow is inhibited. I need feminism because birth control helps control this pain for a lot of women and unless you have personally experienced it you have no say in how this pain should be dealt with. NO UTERUS NO OPINION! Equality is the right to decide what is done with your body. Women have no control of what men choose to do with their bodies, there for men should have no control of what women do with their bodies.

I need feminism because EVERYONE is created equal and everyone has the right to make their own decisions. Division based on gender, race and sexuality is complete bullsh*t. I have been more fortunate than many people in this world, and I will stand for what I believe in and I will give a voice to those that have none. This is a day for more than just women. This is a day to celebrate equality and how far people have come. This is a day to stand together and be grateful for what we have and examine what we need as a society. Happy National Women’s Day.

200

One thought on “Why I Need Feminism

Leave a Reply

